What are Traditional Committees?

Traditional committees simulate bodies seeking to solve a single issue by writing a resolution. They generally (but not always) focus on present-day issues and address them through well-researched, negotiated solutions. These are typically some of the larger committees at a MUN conference, often involving several hundred delegates. Delegates represent countries and should consider the issues of a committee from the perspective of these countries.

At MUNUC, we have three different types of traditional committees:

  • GENERAL ASSEMBLIES - Typically the largest MUNUC committees (150- 300 delegates) and cover a broad range of issues. There are 6 main GA committees:
    1. Disarmament & International Security
    2. Economic & Financial
    3. Social, Humanitarian & Cultural
    4. Special, Political & Decolonization
    5. Administrative & Budgetary
  • ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCILS - Committees focusing specifically on economic, social and environmental issues. Sizes range from medium (50-100 delegates) to large (100+ delegates).
  • REGIONAL BODIES - Delegates represent countries in specific region. Typically small (15-50 delegates) committees. Some are traditional; others have crisis elements.