Congress of Vienna VIENNA

GROUP: Specialized Agencies

  • Topic A: Congress of Vienna

TOPIC A Congress of Vienna



  • Sri Krishnan
Email Committee Executives

In 1814 after over a decade of fierce fighting, fallen kingdoms, broken alliances, and liberal revolution the Great Powers of Europe endeavored to settle their grievances and prevent the continent from erupting into the violence it had just escaped. Napoleon had been exiled to Elba and the armies of all belligerents had finally begun to demobilize. The Congress of Vienna capitalized on this opportunity by discussing the new borders and leaders of Europe while clamping down on nationalism and republicanism. In addition to committee the Congress largely functioned out of informal gatherings like balls, salons, parties, and feasts. Per a popular adage of the time, “The Congress does not move forward, it dances.”

This committee will deviate from typical Model UN procedure in a few manners. Rather than a full resolution, delegates will draft short articles each session upon very focused topics. This committee will hold no crisis backroom powers, although the decisions made in each session will reflect upon and evolve future sessions. Delegates will represent individuals associated with the Congress rather than simply countries, and more influential countries will be represented by more delegates to reflect that influence. However, delegates are not beholden to voting with the rest of their countrymen. The chair will favor longer and more productive usage of unmoderated caucuses. Delegates will receive a secret agenda prior to the beginning of committee. Please look over the Background Guide carefully for a full explanation of the committee structure.

The Congress of Vienna will be run in single delegate assignments. Given its different mechanics and single delegate status, we recommend it to more confident delegates looking for a unique take on Model UN.


Committee Members

  •  Klemens von Metternich
  •  Johann von Wessenberg
  •  Friedrich von Gentz
  •  Joseph Radetzky von Radetz
  •  Josef von Hudelist
  •  Franz Binder von Krieglstein
  •  Karl Robert Nesselrode
  •  Gustav Ernst von Stackelberg
  •  Ioannis Kapodistrias
  •  Heinrich vom und zum Stein
  •  Andrey Razumovsky
  •  Carlo Andrea Pozzo di Borgo
  •  Karl August von Hardenberg
  •  Wilhelm von Humbolt
  •  Karl Friedrich von dem Knesebeck
  •  Johann Gottfried Hoffman
  •  Karl August Varnhagen von Ense
  •  Friedrich August von Staegemann
  •  Robert Stewart Castlereagh
  •  Arthur Wellesley
  •  William Shaw Cathcart
  •  Richard Le Poer Trench Clancarthy
  •  Stratford Canning
  •  Charles Vane Stewart
  •  Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand-Périgord
  •  Emmerich Joseph von Dalberg
  •  Louis Joseph Alexis de Noailles
  •  Frédéric-Séraphin de La Tour du Pin Gouvernet
  •  Jean-Baptiste de Gouey la Besnardière
  •  Armand-Emmanuel du Plessis de Richelieu
  •  Pedro de Sousa Holstein
  •  António de Saldanha da Gama
  •  Joaquim Lobo da Silveira
  •  Pedro Gómez Labrador
  •  Carlos Gutiérrez de los Ríos
  •  Pedro Cevallos Guerra
  •  Carl Axel Löwenhielm
  •  Sidney Smith
  •  Christian Gunthor von Bernstorff
  •  Niels Rosenkrantz
  •  Hans von Gagern
  •  Gerrit Karel Spaen van Voorstonden
  •  Charles-Joseph Lamoral
  •  Adam Jerzy Czartoryski
  •  Stanisław Kostka Potocki
  •  Hans Reinhard
  •  Charles Pictet de Rochemont
  •  Friedrich Albrecht von der Schulenberg
  •  Detlev von Einsiedel
  •  Leopold von Plessen
  •  Ernest Friedrich Herbet zu Münster
  •  Karl Phillipp von Wrede
  •  Aloys von Rechberg
  •  Georg Ernst Levin von Wintzingerode
  •  Wilhelm Ludwig von Berstett
  •  Ercole Cosalvi
  •  Agostino Pareto
  •  Antoine Marie Phillippe Asinari de Saint-Marsan
  •  Ottavio Mormile
  •  Luigi de' Medici