Paris Climate Accords PCA

GROUP: Hybrid

  • Topic A: Paris Climate Accords

TOPIC A Paris Climate Accords



  • Elizabeth Mansfield
  • Ananya Karanam
Email Committee Chair

The Paris Climate Agreement of 2015, adopted at the Conference of Parties (COP21) within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), was a landmark in the history of the fight against climate change. However, it did not come without a large amount of debate—both among delegations and within individual nations- and it remains a point of contention to this day. The unique problems that climate change poses have both short-term and long-term effects, and thus require both immediate and comprehensive solutions. Moreover, these problems do not end with the impacts they have on our environment and planet, but rather they continue into the political climates of every country on Earth. As delegates to COP21, you will be tasked with addressing these concerns through a hybrid committee structure, responding to climate crises and working towards country-specific backroom goals, while also debating, writing, and amending a resolution to reach a consensus on how to reduce the effects of global climate change. Over the course of the weekend, you will explore the complex and ever-changing economic and geopolitical interests of various nations in order to understand what goes into a global discussion on climate change and how we can best compromise to achieve an effective agreement.


Committee Members

  •  United States
  •  Algeria
  •  Argentina
  •  Australia
  •  Bangladesh
  •  Brazil
  •  Canada
  •  Chile
  •  China
  •  Colombia
  •  Egypt
  •  India
  •  Indonesia
  •  Iran, Islamic Republic of
  •  Iraq
  •  Israel
  •  Japan
  •  Kazakhstan
  •  Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
  •  Korea, Republic of
  •  Kuwait
  •  Libya
  •  Liechtenstein
  •  Malaysia
  •  Maldives
  •  Mexico
  •  Monaco
  •  Morocco
  •  New Zealand
  •  Nigeria
  •  Norway
  •  Oman
  •  Pakistan
  •  Peru
  •  Philippines
  •  Qatar
  •  Russian Federation
  •  Saudi Arabia
  •  South Africa
  •  Thailand
  •  Trinidad and Tobago
  •  Turkey
  •  Ukraine
  •  United Arab Emirates
  •  Uzbekistan
  •  Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
  •  Vietnam