Paris Peace Conference 1919 PPC

GROUP: Hybrid



  • Marliese Dalton
  • Patrick Lou
Email Committee Chair

In the wake of World War I, countries from around the world convened in Paris in 1919 to try to prevent a conflict of that scale from happening ever again. They ultimately formed the League of Nations, a global body tasked with maintaining peace between countries through mediated diplomacy. However, the founding covenant of the League of Nations did not give the body the tools it needed to be successful, and that is what this committee will try to correct. Given a chance to rewrite history, what would you change about the League of Nations covenant and why?

This committee is unique in that delegates will simulate not one, but two international bodies over the course of the weekend, each following slightly different rules. On Thursday and Friday of conference, delegates will play the roles of representatives to the Paris Peace Conference as they debate proposed additions and edits to the Covenant of the League of Nations. During these sessions, the committee will largely follow the rules of a traditional Model UN committee, with delegates finishing voting procedure by the end of Friday. Beginning Saturday, the delegates will transition to become representatives of their originally assigned countries in the League of Nations. These final sessions of the committee will operate similarly to a continuous crisis committee, as delegates attempt to maintain international stability, using the institutions they have created in their revised version of the Covenant of the League of Nations.

This committee is a hybrid committee which means it has a unique structure that contains both traditional and crisis Model UN elements. However, crisis experience is not required nor would it incur any special advantage. Please read the background guide carefully for the special rules and procedures of this committee.


Committee Members

  •  United States
  •  Azerbaijan
  •  Belgium
  •  Brazil
  •  Canada
  •  China
  •  Cuba
  •  France
  •  Georgia
  •  Greece
  •  Guatemala
  •  Haiti
  •  Honduras
  •  Italy
  •  Japan
  •  Liberia
  •  Lithuania
  •  Montenegro
  •  Nicaragua
  •  Panama
  •  Poland
  •  Portugal
  •  Romania
  •  San Marino
  •  Tonga
  •  United Kingdom
  •  Kingdom of Hejaz
  •  Siam
  •  Yugoslavia
  •  Czechoslovakia