Iraqi Governing Council, 2003 IRAQ




  • RJ Ruano
  • Ryan Thornton
Email Committee Executives

How do you rebuild a state? This question has been central to intellectual and policy debates over the past few decades, and as the Iraqi Governing Council (IGC), you will work to rebuild Iraq after the US overthrow of Saddam Hussein. How do you manage the remnants of the Ba’ath party in Iraq, while also listening to the outside forces who installed you as the government? How do you balance domestic concerns while rebuilding your economy, all while keeping the peace in your country? These questions are the ones you will answer as a member of the IGC at MUNUC 31.


Committee Members

  •  Minister of Communications: Haidar al-Abbadi
  •  Minister of Public Works: Nasreen Mustafa Sidiq Berwari
  •  Minister of Construction and Housing: Bayan Baqir Solagh
  •  Minister of Foreign Affairs: Hoshyar Zebari
  •  Minister of Immigration and Refugees
  •  Minister of Trade: Ali Abdul-Amir Allawi
  •  Minister of Planning: Mahdi al-Hafidh
  •  Minister of the Interior: Nori al-Badran
  •  Minister of Agriculture: Abdul-Ameer Abboud Rahima
  •  Minister of Oil: Ibrahim Mohamad Bahr al-Uloum
  •  Minister of Water Resources: Abdul-Latif Rashid
  •  Minister of Education: Alaudin Abdul-Saheb al-Alwan
  •  Minister of Industry and Minerals: Mohammad Tawfik Raheem
  •  Minister of Justice: Hasim Abdul-Rahman al-Shibli
  •  Minister of Electricity: Ayham al-Samaraie
  •  Minister of Finance: Kamil Mubdir al-Gailani
  •  Minister of Transport: Behnam Zayya Polis
  •  Minister of Work and Social Affairs: Sami Izara al-Majoun
  •  Minister of Higher Education- Zeyah Abdul-Razzaq Mohammad Aswad
  •  Minister of the Environment: Abdul-Rahman Sidiq Kareem
  •  Minister of Culture: Mofeed Mohammed Jawad al-Jazaeri
  •  Minister of Human Rights: Abdul-Basit Turki
  •  Minister of Science and Technology: Rashad Mandan Omar
  •  Minister of Health: Dr. Khudayer Abbas
  •  Minister of Sport and Youth: Ali Faik al-Ghadban