German Unification 1871 GER

GROUP: Hybrid



  • Thadeus Obora
  • Davis Larkin
Email Committee Chair

The year is 1871, and after millenia of disunity, the time has finally come for the great and noble Volk of the many Germanic territories to unite under one banner. Prussia, under the wise guidance of Chancellor Otto Von Bismarck, has risen to become not just a great power in its own right, but the hegemon of Germany. Through clever and devious statecraft, the Prussians have united the various confederations of Germany against foreign powers. The Franco-Prussian War is on the brink of conclusion, with France’s emperor, Napoleon III, soundly defeated by Prussia’s powerful alliance of German states. Now, nothing more stands in the way of a united Germany, but for the Germans themselves.

Delegates, hailing from every major German state and principality, will craft a grand new collective constitution to cement the unification of Germany into the German Empire under Kaiser Wilhelm I. Once the new state has been formalized, elections for positions in the Kaiser’s government will commence. As soon as this new German state is on its feet, the treacherous forces of those who wish to see Germany fall – from within and without – will force the Kaiser’s new government to reckon with crisis from every angle.

This committee is a hybrid committee which means it has a unique structure that contains both traditional and crisis Model UN elements. However, crisis experience is not required nor would it incur any special advantage. Please read the background guide carefully for the special rules and procedures of this committee.


Committee Members

  •  Heinrich von Treitschke
  •  Theodor von Mommsen
  •  Heinrich von Seibel
  •  King Louis II of Bavaria
  •  Frederick I, Grand Duke of Baden
  •  Karl Anton, Prince of Hohenzollern
  •  Julius Jolly, Staatsminister of Baden
  •  Francis I of Wuerttemburg
  •  Alexis, Landgrave of Hesse-Philippsthal-Barchfeld
  •  Louis III, Grand Duke of Hesse
  •  Otto Theodor von Manteuffel, Prime Minister of Prussia
  •  Oscar II of Sweden
  •  August Bebel
  •  Rudolf von Bennigson
  •  Wilhelm Liebknecht
  •  Ferdinand Lassalle
  •  Eugen Richter
  •  Representative of France
  •  Representative of England
  •  Representative of Austria
  •  Representative of Hungary
  •  Representative of Russia
  •  Representative of Saxony
  •  Representative of Mecklenberg-Schwerin
  •  Representative of Mecklenberg-Strelitz
  •  Representative of Oldenburg
  •  Representative of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach
  •  Representative of Anhalt
  •  Representative of Brunswick
  •  Representative of Saxe-Altenburg
  •  Representative of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha
  •  Representative of Saxe Meiningen
  •  Prince of Lippe
  •  Prince of Reuss-Gera
  •  Prince of Reuss-Greiz
  •  Prince of Schaumburg-Lippe
  •  Prince of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
  •  Prince of Schwarzburg-Sondershausen
  •  Prince of Waldeck and Pyrmont
  •  Representative of the Free and Hanseatic City of Bremen
  •  Representative of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
  •  Representative of the Free and Hanseatic City of Luebeck
  •  Eduard von Simson
  •  Charles I of Württemburg