The Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice CCPCJ


  • Topic A: Cybercrime
  • Topic B: The Role of Secrecy in Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice

TOPIC A Cybercrime

TOPIC B The Role of Secrecy in Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice



  • Lucia Geng
Email Committee Chair

As the principal policy-making body of the United Nations in the fields of crime prevention and criminal justice, the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice (CCPCJ) provides a forum for states to discuss how crime can be best combatted both nationally and internationally. Furthermore, in addition to efficacy, the CCPCJ places an emphasis on ensuring fairness in crime prevention and criminal justice.

With these goals in mind, the delegates at MUNUC 31 will be able to select one of two topics to discuss in detail. Topic A tackles the problem of cybercrime, a modern problem whose importance grows each day. Cybercrime is defined by the United Nations as any illegal behavior committed by means of, or in relation to, a computer system or network, including such crimes as illegal possession, offering, or distribution of information by means of a computer system or network. In addressing this topic, delegates will address problems regarding the extent to which preventative measures against cybercrime can be effective, the prosecution of transnational actors, and what can be considered cybercrime.

Topic B addresses the role of secrecy in crime prevention. Historically, secret police forces such as Josef Stalin’s NKVD in Russia have led to extrajudicial killings and human rights abuses. Yet, it can be argued that some level of secrecy in government is necessary to prevent knowledge of anti-crime missions from being leaked to the public and to the perpetrators themselves. Should they select this topic, delegates will explore the balance of secrecy with civil liberties in the modern state, and will discuss the integration of secrecy in both theory and practice in modern-day crime prevention systems.


Committee Members

  •  United States
  •  Afghanistan
  •  Austria
  •  Belarus
  •  Benin
  •  Bolivia, Plurinational State of
  •  Brazil
  •  Bulgaria
  •  Cameroon
  •  Chile
  •  China
  •  Colombia
  •  Cote d'Ivoire
  •  Cuba
  •  Egypt
  •  Eritrea
  •  France
  •  Germany
  •  Guatemala
  •  India
  •  Indonesia
  •  Iran, Islamic Republic of
  •  Italy
  •  Japan
  •  Kenya
  •  Korea, Republic of
  •  Mauritania
  •  Mauritius
  •  Mexico
  •  Morocco
  •  Pakistan
  •  Russian Federation
  •  Rwanda
  •  Saudi Arabia
  •  Serbia
  •  South Africa
  •  Sweden
  •  Togo
  •  United Kingdom
  •  Uruguay