Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization AALCO


  • Topic A: The Legal Protection of Migrant Workers
  • Topic B: Legal Guidelines for Public-Private Partnerships

TOPIC A The Legal Protection of Migrant Workers

TOPIC B Legal Guidelines for Public-Private Partnerships



  • Rohan Gandhi
Email Committee Chair

The Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization (AALCO) is a body established in 1956 with the goal of advising and making recommendations on relevant matters of international law to its members. AALCO contains 47 member states representing most of the major states in Asia and Africa. The incredibly diverse set of countries and topics within AALCO represent the diversity of the two continents and serves to provide a forum in which these countries can discuss responses to issues through a unique lens. Collaboration and sharing experiences will greatly benefit all member states, as well as the broader regions around AALCO.

Topic A, the legal protection of migrant workers, deals with how people who travel across countries for work should be treated in a legal sense. Member states will consider how to provide protection to migrant workers from abuse, as well as consider what legal rights workers have in countries in which they are not a citizen.

Topic B, legal guidelines for public private partnerships, discusses the legal matters that arise with the cooperation between a country’s public and private sectors, especially relating to infrastructure projects. Member states will look at international guidelines and recommendations for countries, as well as how international trade affects these partnerships.

Background guide last updated 12/22/2019


Committee Members

  •  Bahrain
  •  Bangladesh
  •  Brunei Darussalam
  •  Cameroon
  •  China
  •  Cyprus
  •  Egypt
  •  Gambia
  •  Ghana
  •  India
  •  Indonesia
  •  Iran, Islamic Republic of
  •  Iraq
  •  Japan
  •  Jordan
  •  Kenya
  •  Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
  •  Korea, Republic of
  •  Kuwait
  •  Lebanon
  •  Libya
  •  Malaysia
  •  Mauritius
  •  Mongolia
  •  Myanmar
  •  Nepal
  •  Nigeria
  •  Oman
  •  Pakistan
  •  Palestine, State of
  •  Qatar
  •  Saudi Arabia
  •  Senegal
  •  Sierra Leone
  •  Singapore
  •  Somalia
  •  South Africa
  •  Sri Lanka
  •  Sudan
  •  Syrian Arab Republic
  •  Tanzania, United Republic of
  •  Thailand
  •  Turkey
  •  Uganda
  •  United Arab Emirates
  •  Vietnam
  •  Yemen